Our Community

Bega Valley Shire (also known as the Sapphire Coast) is located at the south-eastern extremity of coastal New South Wales.

The Shire is predominantly rural, with many townships and villages. Bega is the Shire’s nominated regional centre, supported by the larger urban centre Merimbula, smaller towns of Eden and Bermagui and the villages of Bemboka, Candelo, Cobargo, Pambula, Pambula Beach, Tathra, Tura Beach, Wolumla and Wyndham.

Land is used predominantly for conservation and timber production. The next biggest land use is agriculture, particularly dairy farming, with fishing, oyster harvesting, tourism and retail also being important industries.

The Shire’s population has grown steadily over the past few decades, particularly in the towns and villages.

Transportation Networks
* Princes Highway
* Snowy Mountains Highway
* Merimbula Airport
* Port of Eden

* Canberra CBD 220km
* Melbourne CBD 600km
* Sydney CBD 420km

Major Industrial Precincts
* North Bega
* Eden (off the Princes Hwy
* South Pambula
Information from the Bega Valley Shire Council Website: Correct 11 April 2011

Useful websites
Below is a list of useful websites that might be helpful as you move into the area

Back to Top ↑